Skip to Content
ThdaCare Medical center Waupaca earns national and state recognition
August 24, 2021

ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca earns National and State Recognitions

“We’re on a Continual Journey toward Organizational Excellence”

ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca continues to garner state and national recognitions for quality care and service to the community.

Most recently, the Joint Commission reaccredited the hospital for its safety and quality care practices.

“Joint Commission accreditation is a voluntary process,” said Kellie Diedrick, MBA, FACHE,

Vice President of ThedaCare Medical Centers-New London and Waupaca. “All ThedaCare hospitals work toward state and/or federal certifications. This reaccreditation demonstrates ThedaCare’s commitment to delivering high quality care throughout our service area, and ensuring access to that care for Wisconsinites.”

The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. It is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care.

“The inspector visits each facility and traces the steps a patient follows upon admission for treatment and through the entire treatment/hospitalization process,” Diedrick explained. “The Joint Commission determines its observations on a series of standards that each facility must meet. These standards address medication errors, infection control and competency of its employees and physicians.”

To continue improving, offering the best care for patients and families, Diedrick said teams in Waupaca work every day like they are being evaluated for reaccreditation.

“We are constantly evaluating and measuring ourselves and focusing on safety,” she said. “Jerene Managan, the ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca Quality Specialist, leads our efforts, and we have daily safety huddles. Patients want to know the hospital they are coming to is a safe place to receive care. This accreditation means we are. I’m very proud of the dedication from our team to earn this recognition.”

Level IV Trauma Center

Earlier this year, ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca was recertified as a Level IV Trauma Center by the State of Wisconsin. A Level IV Trauma Center must be capable of providing stabilization and advanced trauma life support prior to patient transfer to a Level I or II Trauma Center.

ThedaCare Regional Medical Center-Neenah is a Level II Trauma Center. The ThedaStar medical helicopter provides transfers from Waupaca to Neenah for trauma care or to ThedaCare Regional Medical Center-Appleton for heart or other intensive care needs.

“We can literally transfer patients between Waupaca and Neenah or Appleton within minutes via ThedaStar, which greatly impacts and benefits patient outcomes,” said Diedrick. “That’s the value of small community hospitals; they are jewels to a community. It is comforting for people to know that when they need it, their local hospital can provide the immediate care needed, and stabilize the patient for transfer. ThedaCare is committed to achieving trauma designations at all of its hospitals, working as an integrated system, to serve our communities.”

Heidi Cuff, MHI, BSN, RN, Director of Nursing at ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca explained that team members play a critical role in ensuring safe care.

“Our ability to earn these certifications and accreditations is all about culture, people, and relationships,” said Cuff. “Our team cares about doing great work. Coupled with our supportive community and the ThedaCare system, ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca consistently delivers the best care possible through the hands of some of the most competent and skilled professionals in the country.”

Cuff added site surveyors who conducted Trauma and Joint Commission recertification recognized the proactive and sustainable processes at ThedaCare. Leaders cultivate a continuous improvement mindset, ensuring relevance and quality is part of everyone’s daily work.

Critical Access Hospital

Also earlier this year, ThedaCare Medical Center-Waupaca earned recognition as a Top 100 Critical Access Hospital (CAH) for the second year in a row, joining ThedaCare Medical Center-Shawano and six other Wisconsin hospitals to earn Top 100 CAH honors.

The term Critical Access Hospital is a designation given to eligible rural hospitals by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The criteria to be named a Critical Access Hospital include:

  • Have 25 or less acute care beds.
  • Maintain an annual average length of stay of 96 hours per patient for acute inpatient care.
  • Be 15 to 35 miles away from the nearest hospital, depending on the local system of highways.
  • Provide emergency care 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

“We know that rural hospitals are unique, and must address the specific issues of their individual communities,” said Diedrick. “Our team members ensure that we deliver the best care for each person. Through our personalized care, we provide the level of expertise that residents of our Wisconsin communities need and deserve.”

About ThedaCare

For more than 110 years, ThedaCare® has been committed to improving the health of the communities it serves in northeast and central Wisconsin. The organization delivers care to more than 600,000 residents in 18 counties and employs approximately 7,000 health care professionals. ThedaCare has 180 points of care, including seven hospitals. As an organization committed to being a leader in Population Health, team members are dedicated to empowering people to live their best lives through easy access to individualized care, supporting each person’s own health and wellbeing. ThedaCare also partners with communities to understand unique needs, finding solutions together, and encouraging health awareness and action. ThedaCare is the first in Wisconsin to be a Mayo Clinic Care Network Member, giving specialists the ability to consult with Mayo Clinic experts on a patient’s care. ThedaCare is a not-for-profit health system with a level II trauma center, comprehensive cancer treatment, stroke and cardiac programs, as well as primary care.